Olympic Fever

I know I’m not alone in the excitement and hype of the Summer Olympics.   As the Games come to a close, I find myself reflecting on my life journey as a competitive athlete and who I am now.  From the age of 5 years to 25 years (yes that is 20 years) I was a proud competitive gymnast.  I lived for the sport.

I am so grateful for what the sport of gymnastics, and most importantly my coaches and parents, provided me with as a toolbox of tools for my life.  I truly believe that my experiences as an athlete have helped to mold who I am today; strong-willed, determined, focused, goal-oriented, organized (time-management skills), competitive, and strong (mentally, emotionally, and physically).

Every four years, I always think the same thing: I should get back out there.  Join an adult class and get back up on the horse (or vault as we gymnasts call it!).  I also watch the aquatic divers and think that diving might be a new sport for me to take-up.  I can utilize my ability for body control and awareness (as well as twisting) under a low-impact environment (the physical results  of decades of tumbling and impact on my joints have left me with ankles, knees, wrists, elbows, and shoulders that aren’t what they used to be).  Unfortunately, living in a rural area there is nothing within available distance with diving training.

If you could start studying any summer Olympic sport now what would it be and why?

 

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

